top of page

Upcycled coffee table

Every upcycler knows that every once in awhile you make a really great find, that nearly builds itself.

As most of you know, I am all about taking the old and unwanted and making it new again. I found the opportunity to do just that, the day I found an old table frame on the side of the road waiting for the garbage truck. Without hesitation I rescued this diamond in the rough and brought it home.

To me it looked like it was a glass coffee table at one point, but the glass was missing

and clearly the owner no longer had use for it. I could see that all it needed was a little TLC and a new home. First step - rough up the old varnish to apply a new finish.

I chose at this point, to paint it instead of re-staining the frame and used a semi gloss white.

It needed three coats!

While that was drying I cut 5 -1"x8"x6' knotty pine boards into 3 foot lengths and stained them. I used an oil based Minwax stain in the color Provincial. This is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. The clean up is harder and it smells, but the end result is unparalleled for getting the grain and imperfections in the wood to stand out and create the look I love. Oh and don't forget to use polyurethane for your top. This will add a nice shine and protect your stain and wood. Would you look at that!?

When picking wood, I prefer it to be knotty, pitchy and to have an uneven complexion. I think it makes for a more interesting piece. I find a clear complexion looks too industrial. Anyway, on with the project.

The boards were attached with cleats to hold them together and to act as the support for around the underside of the outside frame (the white part).

Once they were screwed down to the boards I used the air nailer to nail each cleat to the table frame, just under the table top.

The end result is a beauty, that's for sure.

I hope this has inspired you to try a little upcycling yourself :) Thanks for stopping by!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean

© Copyright 2023 by DO IT YOURSELF. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page