top of page

Abstract Beach painting

This was the beginning of a new and very rewarding Hobby! It was something I have always wanted to try and hadn't because, well I am NOT a painter and my drawing skills are embarrassing... But I found this abstract easy to accomplish.

Just take any size canvas you prefer, brush on a white paint as a base; you could use any other paint as a base depending of the colors you want, but I used white to get these colors shown in the picture. While the base color is still wet, apply the blue color and just stroke the brush from side to side to create the blending. use a fair amount of paint to let the brush glide. If it dries dip the brush in a very tiny amount of clean water.

Next I blended in the other colors, the pink for the sunset and the darker blues. Once they resembled what I thought looked like a sunrise I started my beach. My first step; Draw a straight line across the canvas. This creates a horizon to draw the eye (Thank you Bob Ross!!) Next I created my mountain background, and then continued with the paint blending as I liked.

Working with Acrylic Paint is difficult at times, you have to be fairly quick since it dries so quickly. As long as your paint is wet it will blend easily. You really have to find your own comfort level for working with Acrylic.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean

© Copyright 2023 by DO IT YOURSELF. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page